Are Minnesota’s DUI Laws Strict Enough?
Driving Drunk is 100% preventable, so laws in turn should have a large enough punishment where people have to pay for their mistakes. There should also be help available for people who need it.
That brings us to the question. Are Minnesota’s DUI Laws Strict Enough?
Out of the 50 states and D.C, Minnesota ranks 27th, so about the middle of the pack. They are sandwiched between Hawaii (26th) and South Carolina (28th). I suggest Minnesota get tougher laws, because 27 seems low to me.
Arizona comes in top at the list, and South Dakota is last on the list. You can view the list in full HERE.
There was some pretty interesting facts to go along with with the study, as well.
Minnesota does not have a minimum fine, and the average insurance increase is 37%. Also, minimum sentences can be reduced or waived by community service or drug / alcohol treatment / education.
The average fine for a first DUI ($352) is higher than the Uber fare from Washington, DC to Philadelphia, and you could get all the way to New York with the second-DUI average ($762).
44 states (and DC) can automatically suspend your license, before any court involvement, if you’re arrested for DUI, and In 44 states offenders are required to equip their vehicles with ignition interlock devices after a DUI.
Here is the hint for you. Do not drink and drive. Just don’t do it. Ever. It is bad for you and other people as well.