Rochester, MN  (KROC AM News) - Mayor Ardell Brede handed out his annual Medal of Honor awards during a luncheon on Wednesday, and for most of the recipients, the recognition came as a surprise. The awards program was launched well over 20 years ago by then Mayor Chuck Hazama to honor Rochester area residents for their contributions to the community.

  • Mayor's Award - Joe Weis
  • Diversity Award - Betty Smith and Shirley Greising
  • Legacy Award - Judge Kevin Lund
  • Heroism - Jerry Severson and Jian Zhong
  • Schools/Education - Gordy Ziebart
  • Industry - Brandon Sampson
  • Human Services - Melissa Brandt
  • Youth in Community - Joshua Augustin
  • Services to Those With Disabilities - Jack Priggen
  • Services to the Elderly - Tom Hosier (posthumously) and Janet Hosier
  • Community-Wide Service - Wayne Flock
  • City Service - Mark Ostrem
  • Artistic/Cultural Achievement - Simon Huelsbeck

For 24/7 news and sports check KROC AM and follow KROC-AM on Facebook.