Governor Mark Dayton has declared a state of emergency in 35 Minnesota counties in the wake of the recent stormy weather that is causing major flooding and other damage throughout the state.

In this region, the declaration covers Olmsted, Dodge, Mower, Goodhue, Freeborn, Steele, Waseca and Rice Counties. The Executive Order makes a wide range of state resources available and engages state agencies in response efforts.

Counties in the State of Emergency include; Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Grant, Hubbard, Jackson, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Lyon, Koochiching, McLeod, Morrison, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Olmsted, Otter Tail, Pipestone, Ramsey, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Rock, Roseau, Saint Louis, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Todd, and Waseca.

In addition, the Governor has activated 100 Minnesota National Guard soldiers to help authorities in the International Falls area, where major flooding has been occurring since last weekend.

“We’re ramping up our efforts to help communities across the state that are dealing with storm damage and high water due to the recent heavy rains,” said Kris Eide, HSEM Director. “The state’s emergency operations center is in contact with emergency managers in the affected areas and we are coordinating the state’s response as directed by the governor’s State of Emergency.” 

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) is fully activating the State Emergency Operations Center (SEOC). The SEOC has been partially activated this week in response to flood and storm-related conditions across northern and southern Minnesota.

The Minnesota Department of Transportation is urging travelers to check the MN511 website before heading out because the flooding has closed numerous roads across large areas of the state.  Click here for a list of major roads affected by the floodwaters.