(KROC-AM News)- The National Weather Service has issued a Red Flag warning for eight counties in southwest Minnesota. 

Y-105FM logo
Get our free mobile app

The warning takes effect at noon Wednesday in Cottonwood, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone and Rock Counties. The warning expires at 7 p.m. Wednesday. 

NWS Sioux Falls
NWS Sioux Falls

Officials say the warning was issued due to expected strong winds, low humidity and warm temperatures, conditions ideal for a wildfire. Residents in those counties are advised not to burn during the warning and to make sure all fires are completely out. 

A news release from the DNR says Red Flag Warnings are issued when there are extreme fire risk conditions. “Any spark could become a wildfire under Red Flag conditions,” said Allissa Reynolds, DNR wildfire prevention supervisor.

rochester on tap craft beer festival
Rochester On Tap, Townsquare Media Event

11 of the Most Devastating Weather Disasters in Minnesota Throughout The Years

We might be full of lakes and "nice" but Minnesota has had its fair share of horrible and nasty weather. Throughout the years we've had floods, fires, storms that have crushed stadium roofs flat, and tornadoes that have destroyed lives.

More From Y-105FM